The Barcelona Files (III): Gresca

“Remember that a very good sardine is always preferable to a not that good lobster.”
– Ferran Adria on eGullet 12/16/2004.

Great cuisine can be easy, intellectually stimulating, fun and not elitist or whatsoever at all… In Barcelona a new species of restaurants has evolved in recent years, the so called Bistronomias – a mixture of bistro (reflecting both the atmosphere and setting as well as the traditional dishes which serves as an inspiration for the chefs) and gastronomia (reflecting the haute cuisine touch to improve the dishes).

Read more

7 Responses

  1. Hi Ingo – I really enjoyed my recent meal at Gresca, so many thanks for the recommendation. Unfortunately I forgot to take my camera (the first time ever I’ve forgotten!), so would you mind if I use one photo of yours to provide background illustration for my blog post? I’d like to use the Sardine, Naturally picture and if you have a larger size version (500px high) that would be even better. Many thanks. Trig.

  2. Hi Trig, glad you enjoyed it – please be free to use any of the pictures. I will send you some pictures in larger versions.

    Best
    Ingo

  3. Many thanks.

  4. I will be traveling to Barcelona soon. I am trying to find a way to make reservations at Gresca. Besides a phone call, is there another way?
    Are they booked far in advance?
    I have enjoyed reading all your posts about Spain.

    Thanks
    James

  5. James, I don’t think their website is working yet – so the only possibility is to call them which works quite well – Mirela does speak good English… Booking situation – I don’t know but for lunch they are quite busy as it is in working district. I think 2-3 weeks in advance would do…
    If you need any help, let me know…

  6. Just made my reservation for February 6 dinner.
    Friendly and very good English speaking lady on the phone.
    Promising start…

  7. Hi Ingo, went to Gresca based on your reco and had probably the best meal during our three days in Barca. We had sardines with a thin film of pork fat on it for starters, the the gamba and jamon and then the most amazing veal tongue with caramellized onions. Superb. Thanks!

Leave a Reply

