Aqua – Play it Again, Sven!

After all the recent praises you might wonder whether I would ever again report about bad meals (remember King Kamehameha and Can Fabes!). Contrary to professional restaurant testers I can choose the restaurants I visit and most of the time I choose wisely, especially in the last months 🙂 So don’t be disappointed that another highlight will follow now… (Actually I had two quite dissatisfactory meals whereas I will not report on the first as it is not worth the effort and maybe needs some double-checking on the second).

In the last months a lot of foodies approached me to get insights about how Germany’s new three star chef Sven Elverfeld is doing at Aqua. Although I had been to Wolfsburg in November last year for the International Food & Wine Festival (a very good diner of Passard by the way) I had not eaten the creations of Sven Elverfeld since November 07 when the third star was clearly in sight. Time for an update…

The Ritz-Carlton in Wolfsburg

The Ritz-Carlton in Wolfsburg

Read more

9 Responses

  1. Bravo, IFS –
    Bravo Sven Elverfeld & Team ! Respect !

  2. Seems like a highly interesting, unique meal there. Will have to go someday.

    • Felix, it really is – not to be compared to anything else, a lot of ‘German’ elements modernized – I truly love it!

  3. Isn’t the Champagne créme sorbet another Dieter Mueller reference?

    It does all look very good and nice to see the variety in styles among the top chefs in Germany.

    • Stephen – yes you are right, Müller used to serve a Champagne créme sorbet as well but many others have before him 😉 Good catch! But still I think the soup-style is even more like Müller 😉

  4. […] Bourgueil, the promotion of Wissler (2005), Bau (2006), Amador, Erfort, Lumpp (2008) and finally Elverfeld in 2009. Moreover, a couple of young and unconventional restaurants received the second star (alone […]

  5. your food is great!
    it’s art work.

  6. Hi, I absolutely agree on your report. You might check my review on my site: http://troisetoiles.de/2010/02/13/aqua-werkskantine-2-0 (it’s in German though) ;).

    If you don’t mind, I’d like to link to your excellent blog as well.

    Best regards,
    Julien

Leave a Reply

